Sherri-Lyn Hill voted in to lead the 59th Six Nations of the Grand River Elected Council

On Saturday night, the community voted and selected Sherri-Lyn Hill as the 59th Six Nations of the Grand River Elected Chief.

Chief Elect Hill, who has been part of Six Nations of the Grand River Elected Council (SNGREC) for the last 10 years, will be at the head of the table, along with the 12 councillors who were also voted in on Saturday at Six Nations Community Hall.

The 12 councillors voted in to SNGREC are: Cynthia Jamieson, Greg Frazer, Melba Thomas, Helen Miller, Hazel Johnson, Audrey Powless Bomberry, Kerry Bomberry, Alaina VanEvery, Dayle Bomberry, Amos Keye, Dean Hill, and Carole Greene.

“It is with profound gratitude to be the 59th Elected Chief of Six Nations,” Chief Elect Hill said. “Together, we will embark on this journey and build on further success. Together, we will build a brighter future for Six Nations.”

Chief Elect Hill said she wants to express appreciation to Steve Williams, her opponent during the election.

“Congratulations to the new Elected Councillors and a heartfelt appreciation to all of you who supported me,” Chief Elect Hill said. “I want to extend my hand in friendship and cooperation to those who may not have cast their votes in my favour. I ask you to keep an open mind over this term, for I am committed to being a leader for all.”

The swearing in of the 59th SNGREC takes place Tuesday, November 7, 2023, at the SNGR Council Chambers. Swearing in occurs at 6 p.m., with the SNGREC Special Council meeting to follow. The swearing-in ceremony will be streamed on the SNGR Facebook Page.

“I must also extend my gratitude to the 58th Elected Chief Mark Hill and will work closely with Chief Hill to ensure a smooth transition,” Chief Elect Hill said. “I believe that the people of Six Nations have the right to a leader who embodies integrity, honesty, transparency, and accountability with action. I will work diligently for further success in our community. I pledge to be that leader, dedicated to serving our community with honour and responsibility.”